Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.

Academic Curriculum

2017 Maths winners!

Waverley’s 2017 Australian Mathematics Competition Distinction and High Distinction award winners

From Mathematics teacher, Lachlan Hillman

On 27 July 2017, 111 students from years 7 to 11 competed in the Australian Mathematics Competition. It is the largest single event on the Australian education calendar, allowing students to attempt the same tasks, on the same day in about 40 countries.

Students were required to answer 30 problems in 75 minutes. This is a non-calculator competition with questions varying in their degree of difficulty and marks. The problems are bloomed, starting with problems that are achievable for all students and get progressively more difficult throughout the paper.

Waverley’s overall performance was one of a high standard. We achieved 1 High Distinction, 14 Distinctions, and 40 Credits. Special mention needs to made for Lachlan Muir in Year 8 who achieved a High Distinction. Lachlan’s result puts him in the top 3% of students in New South Wales.

Well done to all of our award winners!


High Distinction

Lachlan Muir, Year 8



 Year 7

  • Sam Hodgson
  • Jared Garwood
  • Leonardo Morgan
  • Carl Waterson


Year 8

  • William Gibson
  • Hayden Wild
  • Dante Bryan
  • Eoin Morrissey
  • Jack Sweetman
  • Conor Boyd-Boland


Year 9

  • Jake Torsellini


Year 10

  • William Durkin


Year 11

  • Benjamin Heal
  • Alexander Bruce