Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.

Head’s Message

A week of community building and support

Principal- Graham Leddie

 From the Head of College, Graham Leddie

Kristallnacht Anniversary

Last week Elizabeth Watson (Director of Teaching and Learning) and I had the honour of attending the 80th Anniversary of Kristallnacht, which was held at the Great Synagogue in the CBD. On 9 and 10 November 1938 Nazis in Germany torched synagogues, vandalised Jewish homes, schools and businesses and killed close to 100 Jews. In the aftermath of Kristallnacht, also called the ‘Night of Broken Glass’ some 30000 Jewish men were arrested and sent to Nazi concentration camps. This unprecedented violence against the German Jews generated international outrage. Also in attendance at the anniversary was the Hon. Gladys Berejiklian, Edward Santow (Human Rights Commissioner), and Eddie Jaku (Holocaust Survivor at 98 years of age). Eddie spoke to the audience about never hating anyone and the power of forgiveness. Considering what he had personally suffered, losing many family members including his parents in the holocaust, they were very powerful words.


Parliamentary Friends of Catholic Schools 

Yesterday at NSW Parliament House I attended the first ‘Parliamentary Friends of Catholic Schools’ meeting. The audience heard from Archbishop Anthony Fisher OP, the Hon. Gladys Berejiklian and the newly appointed opposition leader Mr Michael Daley MP.  Each of whom, painted a picture from their perspective of the important role that Catholic education has played in Australia’s history and of their ongoing support for its development and growth. The notion of a strong NSW education system for all was also unpacked and discussed.


Friends of Kolkata’s Elderly (FOKE)

The College was visited this week by Ms Sanghita Mondal, an Indian woman who started the Friends of Kolkata’s Elderly (FOKE). Their mission is to care for the deserted and destitute elderly and support them during their most vulnerable times. They aim to give them the opportunity to live a fulfilled and dignified life. The Waverley community has supported this organisation for many years and it was a great opportunity for some of our boys to hear from Sanghita about a quite different world.


Old Boys’ Union Annual Dinner

Last week I attended the Waverley College Old Boys’ Union Annual Dinner which was held at the Br R J Wallace Performing Arts Centre. Many connections and friendships were reunited and another successful year of community building was highlighted. Congratulations to the Executive of Peter Foley, Col Blake, Chris O’Sullivan and Salvatore Riolo and the Committee members.

OBU Dinner 2018

Parent Association AGM

Thank you to our parent association for their support of the College this year. They have had a very productive year building community across houses and year levels and supporting the College in its endeavours. In particular, I’d like to extend my warm thanks to the following parents for donating their time and energies:


President:                    Mary Ramsay

Vice President:            Lisa Sullivan-Smith

Vice President:            Linda McGuiggan

Treasurer:                   Deb Johnson

Secretary:                   Hailey O’Sullivan


Year 5:            Stephanie van Dam, Jade Stapleton, Rozy Dorizas

Year 6:            Nicole Bowman, Fran Vivieaere-Bates, Rozy Dorizas

Year 7:            Stephanie Schofield, Chantelle Lyons, Lisa Mullens,

Naomi Isaac, Carolyn Palmer, Katie Galeazzi

Year 8:            Liz O’Neil, Violetta Elliott, Roslyn Diesner

Year 9:            Liz Clothier, Clare Corban, Nora Shahinian

Year 10:          Maureen Andrews (also Y12), Sarah Hope

Year 11:          Rox Deluca, Suzie Ruse, Lamya Sadi

Year 12:          Maureen Andrews, Linda McGuiggan


Clothing pool:  Sandy Templeton-Martin, Patsy Thompson


Conlon House win for 2018

Congratulations to Ms Cathy O’Sullivan and Conlon House who have topped the House points tally for 2018. To acknowledge their fantastic teamwork and participation in House events this year, they will celebrate with a breakfast of croissants and pastries at their House Assembly.


Catechists acknowledged

During last Thursday’s College Assembly, thirteen Year 12 students received Certificates from the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine for their work as Catechists whilst in Year 11. Their Catechist work entailed completing a training course at the beginning of the year, and then assisting the Adult Catechist in teaching the Catholic Faith at Bondi Beach Public Primary School. The students did this in groups of two or three on a rostered basis each Thursday morning during the school terms. I would like to congratulate and thank the following student Catechists:  Gian Bonanni, William Durkin, William Fagan, Cooper Flynn, Matthew Gallagher, Joshua Gleeson, Thomas Jaeger, Carter Killigrew, Hugh Marshall, Stephen Morrissey, Oliver Ruse, Thomas Tyson, Harry Whitaker.