Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.

Awards and Appointments Term 4, 2018

From Head of College, Graham Leddie

Leadership in action

Last week we celebrated the newly announced College Captains and Prefects. One of their responsibilities is to consult and develop a theme that they would like the College to focus upon for the year ahead. Part of that consultation is to look for inspiration from the four Edmund Rice Touchstones 1) Liberating Education 2) Gospel Spirituality 3) Inclusive Community 4) Justice and Solidarity. As a reminder, the last two Year 12 cohorts chose the following themes:

2017 Strength through Diversity

2018 Speak though Action.

We look forward as a community to embracing theme chosen by our 2019 Leaders.

There are many opportunities across a myriad of activities for boys at the College to demonstrate, experience and develop their leadership capabilities. This week we acknowledge another group of leaders that can have significant influence on others in our community and beyond – our captains of co-curricular. Each Captain receives a letter from the Head of College encouraging them to exercise leadership through their example and encouragement of others in their respective co-curricular pursuit.

Co-curricular Captains

Basketball Co-Captains: Dion Hatziandreou & Angelo Di Bartolo
1st V Basketball Captain: Kyle Goulding
Cadets CUO: Fletcher Duff
Cricket Captain: Ryan Smith
1st XI Cricket Captain: Alex Ferrara
Cycling: Nicholas Lane
Diving: Marco Coleman
Judo: Michael Gatto
Lawn Bowls: Jesse Muscat
Media Group: Bradley Marzol
Music Co-Captains: Oliver Ruse & Remi Defina-Sperando
Swimming Co-Captains: Will Davison & Sturt Swinburn
Tennis Captain: Marco Dundovic
1st IV Tennis Captain: Patrick Smith
Water Polo Captain: Billy De Luca
1st VI Water Polo Captain: Liam Faulkner-Hogg


Congratulations to Nikita Strbac and Mark Brbot who have been selected in the CAS Waterpolo Team. A fine achievement!

Leadership can also be demonstrated throughout our core business of learning at the College. Students need to see others excel so that they can lift their own expectations and challenge themselves to be better. Students can also see how others study, learn and develop their skills and embed some of those skills and attributes in their own practice.
In recognition of their hard work, fine example and leadership shown, the following boys have been awarded the distinguished Head of College award, Australian Mathematics Competition, Mathematics Olympiad and ICAS English respectively.

Head of College Awards

Jack Crotty – Aungier
Xavier Scally – Brennan
Campbell Groves – Conlon
Jack Preller – Lacey
Michael Richmond – Lacey
Daniel Risk – O’Connor
Caleb Urquhart – O’Connor
Matthew Wong – Quinn

Australian Mathematics Competition, Mathematics Olympiad and ICAS English

Jack Crotty – ICAS English – Distinction
Felix Gardan – Mathematics Olympiad -Top 10% in Australia
William Gibson – Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction Top 4% in NSW
Kieran Hozack – ICAS English – Distinction
Tom Johnson – Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction
Joshua King – Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction
Lachlan Muir – ICAS English – Distinction / Australian Mathematics Competition – High Distinction Top 2% in NSW
Ben Stirling -ICAS English – Distinction / Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction Top 6% in NSW / Mathematics Olympiad – Top 10% in Australia
Jake Torsellini – Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction
Toby Unsworth – Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction
Jake Weinstein – Australian Mathematics Competition – Distinction
Hayden Wild – ICAS English – Distinction

Other Leadership Opportunities Duke of Edinburgh, Cadets and Charity Work both local  and abroad

Duke of Edinburgh Awards

Bronze Award – Maksymilian Klimczak and Lachlan Cunningham


Congratulations to the Waverley College Cadet Unit who took out the CAS Military Skills Championship trophy last weekend. It was a real team effort that saw the boys compete across many disciplines and utilise a multiple of skills and leadership. I know Mr Frost would have been very proud in his 50th year as a teacher at the College.

The WCCU Presentation of Rank was held last Friday. Congratulations to all of the new appointees.

Senior Management Team

SUO1:           CUO Fletcher Duff

RSM:             WO1 Bradley Marzol

SUO2 OPS:   CUO Nicholas Lane

SUO2 TRG:   CUO Joshua Gleeson

SUO2 SPT:   CUO Angus McPherson

SUO2 LOGS:  Hugh Marshall


CUO:  Mark Brbot, Cameron Dawson, Fletcher Duff, Nikhil Dulat, Liam Faulkner-Hogg, Adam Femia, Cooper Flynn, Lachlan Forrest, Cabriel Zander, Michael Gatto, Joshua Gleeson, Joshua Hamilton, Jaime Jackson, Carter Killigrew, Nicholas Lane, Hugh Marshall, Mackenzie Martin, Bradley Marzol, Angus McPherson, Stephen Morrissey, Caillan Porter, Logan Ryan, Henry Standfield, Andrew Tinellis, Timothy Waring, Nathanial Yarrow.


WO2:  Cullen Di Mattina, Benjamin Elder, Aidan Korpar, Samuel Markert, Hugh McSweeney, Joseph Simonella, Emile Stephenson.


SGT:  Dion Sinodinos,Jasper Anderson, James Brenchley, Jake Burns, Patrick Chan, Joshua Cornelius, Matthew Douglas, Joshua Drevon, Lucas Giordano, Heath Jackson, William Mazor, Kai Moonen-Narita, Ryuji Moone, Luca Paolella, Brock Preston, Noah Ratcliff, Christopher Salem, Samuel Tasaousis, Valentius Wirjana, Alexander Woods.


CPL:   Charlie Adonis, Finn Anderson, Nathan Barry, Ethan Blesson, Dante Bryan, Thomas Cahill, Joseph Collins, Thomas Colman, Alexander Elder, Baxter Flynn, Mark Gaponov, William Gibson, Spencer, Kapos, Isaac Kopsiaftis, Tobias Malzard, Oscar Mason, Lachlan Muir, Tobias North, James Occhiuto, Harrison Palmer, Bryn Parry, Jack Priddis, Byron Scott, Jacob Swann, Sebastian Van de Hoel, George Vouros, Hayden Walker, Darcy Widdowson


Congratulations to the following boys on their personal leadership in collecting and supporting the very worthwhile work of and organisation CanTeen:

Matt Stopic
Joshua Cornelius
Xavier Ruppert
Zac Witherspoon
Mitchel Eyles
Zach Karim-Smith
Reeve Smith
Liam Andrews
Maksymillian Klimczak
Luke Fadel
Nakita Strbac
Sebastian Richardson

Two Old Boys Making a significant difference in Timor Leste

Adam Hegedus and Alessandro Piovano (WCOB 2016) are the co-Founders of Educating the Future. They are proud to share with us their Annual Report for 2017 – 2018) This report showcases their  founding story, achievements to date, organisation structure, audited financials and their future strategic objectives. If you are interested in further supporting Educating the Future, there are still seats available for their 3rd Annual Gala Dinner that will be held Saturday 27 October evening at on at Kambala School, Rose Bay. You are also able to purchase raffle tickets if you are unable to attend and still wish to provide a donation.