Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.

Head’s Message

End of Year Reflection

Principal- Graham Leddie


We have come to the end of our College year and we are looking forward to a rest from schoolwork and the fun that comes with summer – holidays and Christmas.

At this time of year the Church also turns its attention to Christmas – but not yet!

We await the arrival of Jesus Christ. We remember and celebrate his birth in a stable 2000 years ago, but we also await his coming into our lives every day in the words of his gospel, in the Eucharist and through our unity as brothers and sisters.

This once and future arrival (adveniens) of Christ is what we celebrate every year. The season of Advent is a time to prepare.

All our lives are an advent. We await Jesus’s arrival, we prepare the way for the Kingdom of God, and we celebrate the birth of each new day.

United as brothers and sisters and dedicated to serve one another we celebrate the love that lights the world.

Staffing Update

I would like to acknowledge teaching and support staff that have served the College well over a number years and who are leaving our community at the end of this year. We wish them the very best in their respective endeavours.

Ms Karen Russell (22 years) – Learning Support Teacher Aid

Mr Mark Claridge (21 years) – Primary Teacher

Mr David Reidy (20 years) – IT Teacher

Mr Phil Davis (18 years) – Director of Mission & Religious Education Teacher

Mr Elan Laishevsky (16 years) – Security Officer

Mr David New (13 years) – English Teacher

Mr Tony Moore (10 years) – Director of Personnel Services and Visual Arts and Religious Education Teacher

Mr John Kara (8 Years) – Events and Logistics Manager

Mr Peter Langdale (8 years) – Geography Teacher

Ms Morag Tunks (7 years) – Junior School Teacher Librarian

Ms Cassie Perry (5 years) – TAS Teacher

Ms Stephanie Floyd (4 years) – Assistant Director of Co-curricular and Mathematics teacher

Ms Karen Jones (3 years) – Religious Education Teacher

Ms Marlee Batterham (3 years) – English Teacher

Ms Georgie Jeffries (2 years) – French Teacher

Ms Alice Walker (2 years) – History Teacher

Mr Matthew Porter (2 years) – Director of Student Wellbeing and PDHPE teacher

Ms Jacinta Scarf (2 years) – Learning Support Teacher Aid

Ms Suzannah Pinter (2 Years) – Music Teacher

Mr Sam Rowlings – (casual) – PDHPE Teacher

Ms Bridie Hawley – (casual) – Science Teacher


We wish the following all the best as they take leave in 2019:

Mr Bruce Dominish (Term 1 2019)

Ms Geraldine Cullen (2019)

Ms Katia Iturrieta (2019)


I would also like to take this opportunity to thank staff that have been acting in positions of responsibility:

Mr Matt Ryan – Acting Assistant Director of Junior School

Mr Ben Medley – Acting Assistant Director of Co-curricular (JS)

Ms Gemma Brown – Acting Assistant Head of Science


Congratulations to all award winners at presentation day and thank you to staff and students who made these events successful and an impressive snapshot of the year.

I would like to acknowledge all staff, parents and boys on a great year.

I hope you have a holy, restful and safe family Christmas and I look forward to working with you in 2019.