Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.


Football Season Wrap Up

From Convenor of Football, Stephen Wilmot

While looking back at the 2019 season I was amazed by how far football has come at the College. Last year I said it was great to see the 1st XI run out onto Queens Park 1, this year we were able to see the Prep 1st football get to have the same experience as they were able to play on QP1. We also had the 1st XI win the St Andrews Cup at the start of the season in a two-day competition and progress to the quarter-finals of the CIS Cup. During the season we also had the opportunity to run a referees course which saw 15 Waverley boys take part in the one-day course and most referee some games for the school.

Last Friday was the annual Football Presentation Night which was a great night for all with the biggest number of attendees football has had. The night would not have been possible without the help of the football supporters club and the parents who gave up some of their time to set up and cook the BBQ for the night. I would like to say a big thank you to the supporters club members Lee Killigrew, Rowena Marsh-Cashman, Karen Roach and Jason Williams who organised the night and to the helpers on the night, Stacey Cail, George and Helen Candi, Rod and Michelle Forrest, Joe and Olimpia Mazza, Mila Palacio and Tony and anyone else who I may have missed. Lastly a huge thank you needs to go to Pia Killigrew who has designed all the flyers, gifts and various other promotional information for football. On the night we celebrated the achievements of all teams and presented awards to the Junior and Senior School teams. Please see below the full list of award winners. A big congratulations to the 8Bs and Anthony Candi for going through as CAS undefeated, CAS premiers and Rizzo Cup winners. Also, congratulations to all award winners and I look forward to seeing everyone again next winter at Queens Park.


Best and Fairest Coaches Award Contribution to Football Captain Award
1st Carter Killigrew Luke Mazza Alex Bayas Carter Killigrew
2nd Sean Kearns Roman Koteczky
3rd Remi Defina-Sperando Andreas Fragias
4th Mawson Flitcroft Alex Gross
5th Sebastian Puga Aidan Korpar
6th Benjamin Rogers Rocco Evans
7th Aidan Chew Marcus Sterianos
8th Mitchell Fitzgerald Eamonn Hassey
10A Billy Deutsch Flynn Herbert
10B Jet Marsh-Cashman Ethan Illidge
10C Evan Athanassiou Ryan Bayas
10D Rory Hughes Saia Afeaki
10E Brad Wilson Sam Kneebone
9A Emilio Vinci Valan Candi
9B Kayton Lee Hugo Defina-Sperando
9C Luke Landon Nathan Barns
9D Daniel Risk Finley Stern
8A Elliott Kerr Harvey O’Malley
8B Reece Emmins Jett McTavish
8C Axel Pinkstone Lachlan McMunn
8D Hirav Gandhi Aiden Pascoe
8E Mitchell Marsh Declan Strong
8F Max Velkovski Xavier Quinn
7A Ricardo Zanapalis Simon Frias
7B Hardy Mears Lachlan Korpar
7C Max Fischer Ashton Child
7D Zane Wixstrom Bailey Barker
7E Lucas Screnci Zac Summerhayes
7F Aren Yaghoubian Kieran Markwick
Prep 1st Max Thompson Kayden Baker
Prep 2nds James Peate Yannick Hott
Prep 3rds Sebastian Ari Constantine Iatrou
Prep 4ths Theo Varvaressos John Varvaressos
11A Jackson Lorimer Liam Lynch
11B Charlie McEvoy Zachary Pereira
11C Dean Andrews Jonathan Yates
11D Tane Barclay Aidan Herlihy
11E Max Sheehy Oscar Murray
11F Olle Wixstrom Marcus Messaike