Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.

From the Principal, Mr Graham Leddie

Principal, Mr Graham Leddie

Principal, Mr Graham Leddie

Well done to Ecology Coordinator and Geography teacher, Ms Rebecca Sutcliffe, for her tireless work in organising the ceremony and native planting last Thursday and Friday with the Indigenous community in the Main Quad.

This very special collaboration with our Ecology and Walawaani students, Indigneous Elder Uncle Dean Kelly, Mr Kevin Heath (Indigenous Liaison Officer), Ms Marie-Anne Maakrun (Assistant Director of Identity & Student Formation) and Old Boy Costa Georgiadis (Class of 1980), has seen our traditional hedges around the statues of Mary and Edmund Rice, replaced with the critically endangered Eastern Suburbs Banksia Scrub, which proliferated in the region prior to non-Indigenous settlement.

Uncle Dean performed smoking ceremonies for each plant and educated students and staff about the new plantings, and the reasons why they were chosen. Old Boy Costa educated our students about the importance of connection, respect, working together and always staying ‘present.’

Summer Co-Curricular Captains and Teams

Congratulations to the following captains and teams who were presented at assembly this week.


1st Captain – Jack Preller

1st Team

  • Xavier Miconi
  • Charlie Farrington
  • Jack Preller
  • Kai Jones


Captain – Scott Swinburn

1st Captain – Luke White


Captain – Jamie Khov


Captain – Will Hickey

1st Captain – Hirav Gandhi

1st Team

  • Hunter Eldridge
  • Liam Wood
  • Jack George
  • Lucas Ryan
  • Jono McDonald
  • Carter Steyn
  • Matthew Frost 
  • Toby McDonald
  • Conor Andrews
  • Freddie Le Vay


Captain – Daniel Palacio

1st Captain – Thomas Gleeson

1st Team

  • Flynn Busteed
  • Wylie Durrans
  • James Dyson Merwe
  • Marley Henare
  • Sergej Jakovljevic
  • Harrison Lee
  • Daniel Palacio
  • Zion Poitaha
  • Marko Rangan
  • Oscar Walters-Green


Captain – Alistair Isaac

1st Captain – Paul Muir

Water Polo

Captain – Liam Athanassiou

1st Captain – Felix Turinui

1st Team

  • Lucas Dubois
  • Sonny Mori
  • Jack Kerves
  • Felix Turinui
  • Luca Whitaker
  • James Finegan
  • Tristan Lee
  • Ehren Little
  • Lincoln Tanner
  • Archie Godby

Touch Football

Captain – Sam Johnson

1st Captain – Hugo Kulscar

Public Speaking

Captain – Matt Woods

Staffing Updates

After 37 Years of distinguished service to boys, parents, staff and the community, Ms Audrey Coupe will retire at the end of this year. Over this time, Audrey has provided amazing support to Headmasters and Directors of Junior School. She has run both campuses and supported key personnel, whilst also meeting the needs of families. Audrey has ensured the College got through the storms and shone at all other times. She has put her heart and soul into the College, and left a wonderful legacy of care and service for others. Many an Old Boy remembers fondly the impact she made in their life, long after they left the College. We will thank and acknowledge Audrey at the end of this term and I wish her a wonderful end to her career at the College.

After 47 years of distinguished service to the boys, staff, parents and community, Mr Chris Blenkinsopp will retire from full-time teaching at the end of this year. Over his time at the College, Chris has shared his passion of Music with many students through camps, musicals, and tours to Europe, China and the USA. Chris has been an integral member of the Music Department, and inspired many students to pursue and develop their musical talents. Chris was Head of the Music Department from 1992 – 2005. He has also assisted with many College and community bands over the years, and left a significant mark with all of them. The Cadet program has benefited from his many hours of service and tuition. We will thank and acknowledge Chris at the end of this term, and I wish him a wonderful end to his career at the College.

Welcome to Ms Helen Barrie, Head of Academic Enrichment, who started with us this week. Helen has nine years teaching/leadership experience in a leading Government School in Sydney. Most recently, she has held the position of Head Teacher – Teaching & Learning, working closely with the leadership team to develop and implement a number of key frameworks within the school. In this role, she implemented the Department of Education’s High Potential and Gifted Education. Helen has also spent time working with the Education Department as a member of the HSC Strategy Team, looking at ways to enhance outcomes for students across the departments. We are very excited to have Helen join Waverley College.

Congratulations to Mr Nic Brophy who is acting as Head of History for the first half of Term 4, whilst Mr Barry Smith is away on leave. 

Farewell and thank you to Mr Walter De Vecchis and Mr Simon Finegan, both from the Campus team, who have contributed significantly to the College Campus team this year. Simon has accepted a position with the Opera House and Walter is travelling overseas to visit family. We wish them both all the very best.