Search icon
Explore icon

From the Principal, Mr Graham Leddie

Principal, Mr Graham Leddie

Principal, Mr Graham Leddie

Sad news  

Our thoughts and prayers are with the Livissianis family at this time. Ben Livissianis, Father of Will (Year 9) and WCOB 1991, sadly passed away recently after battling cancer. May Ben find everlasting peace. 

CAS Track & Field Competition

Congratulations to Track & Field Head Coach Mr Jeremy Roff, Convenor Ms Rebecca Gair, and the Waverley Track & Field Team on their performance at the 92nd Annual CAS Track & Field Competition.

There were some errors discovered after the evening and the correct School scores are below. Equal second to the Waverley Team – well done! 

Congratulations to Trinity Grammar School on their fine performance. 

1 Trinity Grammar School: 687

2 Waverley College: 628                      

2 Knox Grammar School: 628            

4 Barker College: 549                           

5 Cranbrook School: 507                      

6 St Aloysius’ College: 499                    

Congratulations to the following Waverley students who broke CAS records:

Evan Rowbotham (Year 8) 

  • U/13 800m | CAS record 2.10.59 | New record time of 2.04.44
  • U/13 1,500m | CAS record 4.25.48 | New record time of 4.23.23

Alexander Bissell (Year 7), Ryan McNamara (Year 8), Rory Muldowney (Year 8), Sunny Steyn (Year 8)

  • U/13 4 x 100m relay | CAS record 48.77 | New record time of 47.56

Farewell to Year 12

Today, our College community bid a fond farewell to the Class of 2023 during their ultimate Graduation Assembly held in the Centenary Quad. Each student was introduced by their respective Head of House, and academic achievers were duly acknowledged. To create a fitting tribute, the students departed the Quad with the resonant melodies of ‘Auld Lang Syne’ performed by our College Brass Band and College Choir.

The College’s celebration and farewell of the Year 12 Cohort extended to include parents, grandparents, siblings, and other significant caregivers at a mass held at Mary Immaculate Church. As part of this touching service, the graduates received meaningful gifts—a Waverley College Old Boys’ Union Tie and a Celtic Cross.

In the evening, the students will savour their Valedictory Dinner at Australian Turf Club, Randwick. 

Congratulations, Class of 2023, may your journey be marked by unwavering respect and utmost integrity as you step boldly into the future. 

Waverley College extends its best wishes to each young man as they prepare for their upcoming HSC examinations or start their respective apprenticeship.

May you find a life grounded in Virtus Sola Nobilitat – Virtue is its own reward.

Good luck and God Bless.

Year 12 Award Winners 2023

Luca Holmes: The Ray Aston Memorial Prize for Biology

Wylie Durrans: Construction Equal First

Vasili Malempre: The Alice & Mildred Thomas Prize for English Extension I

Jay Briggs: English Extension II

Wilford Hyde: Food Technology

Arjun Sukumaran: Geography

James Wellington: Hospitality

Jack Heath: Investigating Science

Lenny Joseph: Mathematics Standard Course I

Finlay Chandler: Mathematics Standard Course II

Mackenzie Palmer: Visual Arts

Anderson Franulovich: Visual Design

Daniel Palacio: Spanish Beginners

Jett Wanda: Construction Equal First; Industrial Technology

Kit Armstrong: Design & Technology; Mathematics Advanced

Freddie Le Vay: The Catherine Smithurst Prize for Standard English; Music Course I

Angus Birrell: Equal First Music Course II; Music Extension; Principal’s Award of Excellence

Leo Schmid: English Studies; Marine Studies; Sport Life & Recreation

Jamie Khov: Mathematics Extension I: The Judge Thomas Prize for Mathematics Extension II

Harrison Lee: Sydney Roosters Character and Endeavour Award

Felix Turinui: WF Corbett Award for Best All Round Sportsman

Thomas Shahinian: Archbishop’s Award

James Iatrou: Old Boys’ Union Edmund Rice Award for Leadership of Social Justice

Alistair Isaac: Equal First Music Course II; Max Coleman Memorial Award for Living Out the Touchstones

Connor Andrews: College Vice Captain; Ampol All Rounder Award

Bertie Cottell: College Vice Captain; Reuben F Scarf Award

Sam Stewart: Br R J Wallace Prize for Drama; College Vice Captain; Waverley Council Award for General Proficiency

Lachlan Grant: College Captain; The Inicio Medal for Outstanding and Consistent Growth

Charles Hely-Hammond: The Barry McDonald Prize for Legal Studies; Br P Oakley Prize for PDHPE; PDHPE GHR Award; 3rd in Overall Academic Performance

Jake Perks: The M O’Halloran Prize for Chemistry; Br F S Farrell Prize for Physics; Equal 2nd in Overall Academic Performance

Jack Preller: Business Studies; The Br PA Conlon Prize for Economics; Bishop Patrick Dougherty Prize for Studies Of Religion II; JJ O’Brien Award for Leadership, Study & Involvement; Equal 2nd in Overall Academic Performance

Liam Wood: The Brian Sheedy Prize for Ancient History; The Abram Landa Prize for Advanced English; The George & Elizabeth Thomas Prize for Extension History; Modern History; Bishop Geoffrey F Mayne Prize for Studies Of Religion I; Br LB Tevlin Memorial Prize for Dux of the College.