Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.

Academic Curriculum

HSC Minimum Standards – Advice for parents of 2017 Year 9 students

From the Director of Learning, Elizabeth Watson

As communicated in Nurrunga earlier this year, NSW has introduced HSC reforms, with the most immediate being the minimum Literacy and Numeracy Standards for the Higher School Certificate.

From 2020, all Year 12 students in NSW must reach the minimum standard of Literacy and Numeracy to receive an HSC.

Students in Year 9 in 2017 will be the first students expected to meet the standard.

This week NESA published 36 sample questions for the online literacy and numeracy tests for students to demonstrate they meet the new minimum standard for the award of the HSC from 2020 onwards. The sample questions, while ranging in difficulty, give an indication of the level of functional literacy and numeracy required.

Students should take some time to look at these questions

Should you opt to test yourself in reading and numeracy, you can mark yourself with the answers I provide in the next Nurrunga edition!

Please see the download below to see more advice to parents on these changes.


Advice for Parents of Year 9 Students 2017 Download