Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.


Lacey House End of Term Report

Head of Lacey House, Mr Damien Thompson

Head of Lacey House, Mr Damien Thompson

From Head of Lacey House, Mr Damien Thompson

What an interesting year for our senior boys to navigate. Bush fires, Covid 19, Online Learning and having to put up with my jokes for the fourth year in a row, farewell Year 12 Boys. We have been blessed by the strength of character of our Lacey Seniors. They have missed so much but have given so much back. All the boys mentioned below have been outstanding leaders in their Wellbeing groups with the drive toward student led discussions and activities bearing fruit this year. Vale Year 12. You are ready for the world and I hope the world is ready for your boundless enthusiasm and spark.

Group 1 – William Mazor and Bo McNamara.
Group 2 – Daniel Townsend.
Group 3 – Shosei Fukushi.
Group 4 – Nic Algie, Matthew Brock and Riley Buenventura.
Group 5 – Matthew Douglas and Jacob Fadel.
Group 7 – Luke Fadel and Finn Robilliard.
Group 8 – Nathan Le.
Group 9 – Declan Punch.
Group 10 – Alexander Robertson and Charlie Silva.
Group 11 – Daniel Pomes and Alex Woods.

Lacey Senior Legends 2020

Lacey Senior Legends 2020

Co-curricular Award winners

The Second XV Rugby Premiers included Ben Elder and Declan Punch whilst in Football, Bo McNamara was awarded the prize for Contribution to Football 2020. In other rugby awards Jonti Morshead-Feildel(15A’s), Edward Lyons(14B’s) and Hamish Punch(13B’s) were all recognised for their efforts and skill.

In Tennis, Jack Preller was awarded the 1st IV Tennis Best and Fairest in 2020, Michael Richmond was the Year 10 Tennis Champion and Otto Hulewicz was Year 8 Tennis Champion 2020. Bailey Barker(8D’s), Declan McAuliffe(8E’s), Yannick Hott(7B’s) and Ollie Moclair & Charlie Luck(7D’s) also gained awards.

In Debating, Waverley College’s Most Outstanding Senior Debater for 2020 was Matthew Brock(Yr 12). The Year 7, Most Consistent Performance in Debating award went to Lincoln Tanner.

In AFL, our 1st XVIII team were the CAS undefeated premiers in 2020 and included William Mazor, William Gibson and Noah Mitchell from Lacey House. The Best Team Man for the 1sts AFL 2020 was Will Mazor.

The Best Sports Photographer for 2020 was Owen Punch and in Theatresports, Michael Richmond was the Best Performer for 2020.

Academic Award Winners

Lacey House success was not restricted to the sporting fields. Our Senior Academic Award winners for Semester One included Matthew Brock (First in Economics and Legal Studies), Riley-Jay Buenaventura (Equal first in Catholic Studies), Daniel Pomes (Equal first in Biology, First in English Standard), with Finn Robilliard coming First in English Extension 2, Industrial technology and Studies of Religion 2.

Other Academic Award winners in Year 11 were Diego Berdaa (First in Spanish Continuers), Kai Bruce-James (First in Catholic Studies), Dante Bryan (First in Music 1), Alexander Elder (First in Investigating Science), William Gibson (First in Design and Technology), Joshua Grant( First in Construction) and Harjot Mand (First in Economics and Legal Studies).

Year 10 Award winners were William Coates (First in Work Education), Harrison Gippel (Equal first in Religion) and Sasha Moustacas(First in Visual Arts).

The Year 9 winner was Finn Stranix (Equal first in History elective & First in Visual Arts).

Year 8 included Bailey Barker (First in class English, History, PDHPE, Religion, Science, Spanish, Technology and Visual Arts, Equal third in Year Mathematics, Equal first in Year History Religion and First in Year Spanish). Jet Foltman (First in class PDHPE & Equal third in class Mathematics), Otto Hulewicz (First in class English), Edward Lyons (First in class PDHPE), Oliver Malzard (First in class History and Spanish), Sean McLaughlin (First in class Technology), Joseph Packington (First in class PDHPE) and Campbell Porteus who was equal third in year Mathematics.

Year 7 winners were Yannick Hott (First in class Religion and Science, equal second in Year 7 Mathematics and equal first in year Religion). Jack Johnston (First in class Geography& equal First in Year Religion), Lincoln Tanner (First in Class English, PDHPE and Religion).

Cadets Award Winners

The Waverley College Cadet unit 2020 award winners from Lacey House included Oliver Malzard, Sean Mclaughlin and Peter Fragias. Significantly for Lacey House were the graduating seniors Matthew Douglas, Ben Elder and William Mazor. Congratulations to all these students on achieving success in such a wide variety of pursuits.

House Competitions

Success followed in House Competitions with Brooklyn Heath first place, Tini Tofaeono Year 8 first place, Owen Punch first place, Equal 4th Massimo Lacey, 8th Luke Fadel Lacey with the Sled race winners being Lacey with a time of 51 seconds.

Brooklyn in the Sled Relay

Brooklyn in the Sled Relay

Strength in character as well as body is a hallmark of Lacey House. We were not as well placed in the touch football comp but the boys put in a great effort. The team included Jonti Morshead-Feildel, Sam Lodge, Lachie Algie, Lincoln Tanner, Tom Park, Jameson Hinds, Hamish Punch, Brooklyn Heath, Declan Punch, Ben Elder, Leon Bakis, Tini Tofaeono, Billy Lyons and Nate Phipps.

Touch Football Team

Touch Football Team

Our Dodge Ball team made it through to the finals with Jacob Fadel, Luke Fadel, Will Gibson, Alex Elder, Josh Grant, Joe Morris, Nikita Strabc, Oscar Malone, Luke Landon, Owen Punch and Ayden Diffen all doing their best for Lacey.

The Big Men of Lacey turned up for the Tug-of-War championships with a great team including, Finley Kelly, Pat Carey, Declan McCauliffe, James Fragias, James Birbas, Toby Malzard, Lorenzo DiNapoli, Peter Fragias, Ayden Diffen and Mighty Joe Morris(Anchor Man) just losing out to Tevlin in a dramatic final.

Finally, thanks go to the marvellous Mentors from Lacey who continue to do the important work of building connections on a daily basis with the Legends in their Wellbeing groups. This continues to be the main focus for Lacey House. Our House leadership group has been outstanding in a difficult year and Nikita, Declan, Luke and Jacob have all been tremendous supports for our whole House.

Mr Damien Thompson