Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.


O’Connor House End of Term Report

Head of O'Connor House, Matthew Barr

Head of O'Connor House, Mr Matthew Barr

From Head of O’Connor House, Mr Matthew Barr

As we draw to a close of our first complete term of the year onsite, it is timely to step back and reflect upon the term that was.

Firstly, students who achieved well in their Semester One studies and Reports were acknowledged and congratulated early in the Term. Those boys that achieved 1st Prize in their class and subject areas were presented at the College’s Academic Assemblies, it is always rewarding to see strong representation from O’Connor amongst the top award winners.

Academic Subject Awards

  • Samuel Caro
  • Yianni Hatjinikitas
  • Xavier Miconi
  • James Peate
  • Hugo Perks
  • Tex Filipek
  • Marcus Kastrissios
  • James Nestor
  • Thomas Pilger
  • Aodhan Williams
  • Hugo Morgan
  • Toby Neilsen
  • Jonathan Booy
  • Harrison Drew
  • Patrick Healy
  • Julian Tee
  • Mack Trustrum
  • Thomas Wilkins
  • Bryn Parry
  • Luke Cochrane
  • Blair Kallis
  • Ethan King

Cadet Awards

  • Joseph Vonwiller
  • Tom Cahill
  • Bryn Parry

Inter-House Competitions

O’Connor also had strong performances in both the Inter-House Touch Football and Dodge-Ball competitions finishing second in both. O’Connor students from Years 7-12 participated in a strongman competition in the Centenary Quad, which was a great spectacle for students to watch.

Touch Football Competition

A big thanks to those students that volunteered to participate in these competitions, demonstrating spirit and passion for O’Connor House.

Winter Co-Curricular Awards

Term 3 saw the conclusion of the Winter Co-curricular programs, with the following boys being successful in receiving awards in their chosen co-curricular activities:

  • Jordan Swann
  • Solomon Tuqiri
  • Keyaan Abrahams
  • Caleb Sinclair-Harris
  • Vidar Sundkvist
  • Miles Kelly
  • Mawson Flitcroft
  • Will Sweetman
  • Indi Samarasinghe
  • Yianni Hatjinikitas
  • Leo Morgan
  • Jake Perks
  • James Kambas
  • Charles Harris
  • James O’Laughlin
  • Tashi Harrison
  • Frankie Pedder

We once again viewed school assemblies in Wellbeing groups that supported and promoted RUOK Day and Wear it Purple Day.

O’Connor Year 11 students were fortunate to participate in a car maintenance workshop run by Galmatic. This workshop enabled students to receive basic knowledge of car maintenance and provided some great tips.

Year 11 Galmatic Workshop

Year 11 Galmatic Workshop

O’Connor Year 12 Students

I would finally like to take the opportunity to wish our Year 12 O’Connor students the very best for their HSC examinations and beyond. It has certainly been a very challenging year for each of them, however, they have navigated these uncertain times with focus and positivity. The future holds many great things and this group of boys have been exceptional role models to the younger students in O’Connor House. I hope they can look back on their time at Waverley with fond memories and friendship that last a lifetime.

  • Riley-James Cebokli
  • Patrick Chan
  • Luke Cochrane
  • Cullen DiMattina
  • Finn Filipek
  • Mawson Flitcroft
  • Jack Gillard
  • Patrick Gooley
  • Blair Kallis
  • Ethan King
  • Maksymilian Klimczak
  • Dylan Loulli
  • Davvy Moale
  • Reeve Mohat
  • Patrick O’Sullivan
  • Brock Preston
  • Olli Rinder
  • Oscar Rowson
  • Christian Smirnotis
  • Jordan Swann
  • Zavian Taylor-Simi
  • Eddie Williamson
Year 12 O'Connor House

Year 12 O’Connor House

Term 4 Reminders

Our Term 4 classes will resume on Tuesday 13th October. A reminder to parents and caregivers to ensure that your son returns with an appropriate haircut, including hair not covering the ears, collar or eyebrows.

I hope you all enjoy the holiday break and return refreshed and recharged as we head into the home straight for the 2020 school year and look to finish united and strong.

Head of O’Connor House, Mr Matthew Barr