Search icon
Explore icon

From the Archive

80 Years at Queens Park

Queens Park Sports Grounds in 1950

Queens Park Sports Grounds 1950 before the Pavilion was built

2017 marked the 80th anniversary of the College’s official use of Queens Park playing fields. This image shows Queens Park as it looked sometime between 1938 and 1951, when the first pavilion – affectionately known as Green Gables – was built. The playing fields were created from very uneven and rough ground by the combined, determined efforts of the Brothers and Waverley College families. Truck loads of rubbish had to be removed before levelling work could begin. Green Gables was destroyed by fire in 1960, leading to the design and construction of the new – current – Queens Park Pavilion. The building was the work of Architect Professor Neville Anderson and builder Geoffrey McCabe, both Old Boys of the College. Next time you’re on the playing field, or on the sidelines at Queens Park, spare a thought – and perhaps a small prayer of thanks – for the work of so many over such a long time in relation to the playing fields.