Search icon
Explore icon

Please note: This post is from our website archive. Some of the information within this post may now be out-of-date.


Swimming season wraps up

From Stephanie Floyd, Assistant Director of Co-curricular

The swimming season has once again come to an end with the CAS Swimming Championships last Thursday the 15th of March. The Waverley swim team trained hard throughout the summer season, and all their efforts paid off on the night. With Year 8, 10 and 11 cheering them on, the team swam some amazing times and ultimately held on to 4th place ahead of St Aloysius and Cranbrook.

The entire swim team deserve to be congratulated for their efforts on the night, but some particularly memorable performances deserve special mention:

  • Stuart Swinburn – 1st in all 4 of his individual events
  • Erwan Le Pechoux – 2nd in 50 FLY, 3rd in 50 and 100 FS
  • Robbie Beal – 3rd in Opens 100 BK as a 17 Year old
  • Peter Cassimatis – 2nd in 50 BR, 3rd in 50 FS, 3rd in 16s FS Relay
  • Nikita Strbac – 3rd in 50 FLY, 3rd in 16s FS Relay
  • Liam Davis – 3rd in 50 FS and 50 FLY
  • Carter Hjorring – 3rd in 100 FS and 50 BK
  • Scott Swinburn – 3rd in 50 BK
  • Ronan Braham –  3rd in 16s FS Relay
  • Henry Standfield –  3rd in 16s FS Relay

All the Waverley competitors who swam on the night contributed to a total points score of 353 points, which is very impressive when compared to our 333 points last year and 318 the year before.


The following boys were recognised at presentation night for their efforts throughout the swimming season:

  • U12 Age Champion: Campbell Groves
  • U12 Runner Up: James Clarke
  • U13 Age Champion: Carter Hjorring
  • U13 Runner Up: Scott Swinburn
  • U13 Most Improved: Luke White
  • U14 Age Champion: Liam Davis
  • U14 Runner Up: Leo Astridge
  • U14 Most Improved: Emilio Vinci
  • U15 Age Champion: Oliver Blackett
  • U15 Runner Up: Remy Crompton-Lamb
  • U15 Most Improved: Ethan King
  • U16 Age Champion: Peter Cassimatis
  • U16 Runner Up: Nikita Strbac
  • U16 Most Improved: Andre Bonanni
  • U17 Age Champion:  Stuart Swinburn
  • U17 Runner Up: Robbie Beal
  • U17 Most Improved: Noah Burgess


  • Opens Age Champion: Erwan Le Pechoux
  • Opens Runner Up: Louie Cosgrove
  • Opens Most Improved: Lachlan Bell


  • Captains Trophies: Erwan Le Pechoux and Jonathon Schacht
  • Murray Garretty Award for the Most Outstanding Performance at CAS 2018: Stuart Swinburn
  • Boyd Wright Memorial Award for Best Team Man 2018: William Davison
  • Brent Harding Memorial Award for the Most Improved 2018: Darcy Ferguson
  • Kerry Murray Award for Commitment to Swimming 2018: Luke Stewart
  • Fred Etter Award for Swimmers Swimmer 2018: James Bodkin

The entire swimming squad had a fantastic season, and finished it off with an outstanding performance at CAS. Congratulations to all the boys, particularly our amazing captains, and thank you to the staff and parents who helped to make it such a great season. Now it’s on to the CIS Championships in two weeks time.

Waves to Win!